University Council Minutes March 17, 2025 3:30 p.m. 2420 North End Center and Zoom

Present: Cyril Clarke (presiding), April Myers, Laurel Miner for Daniel Sui, Bryan Garey, James Bridgeforth for Frances Keene, Kim O'Rourke, Guru Ghosh, Aimée Surprenant, Rachel Holloway, Susan Sumner for Mario Feruzzi, Daniel Givens, Laura Belmonte, Tsai Lu Liu, Paul Winistorfer, Julia Ross, Saonee Sarker, Lee Learman, Amanda Morris, Natalia Guerrero, Rachel Miles, Justin Lemkul, Janice Austin, Marlena Lester, Enrique Noyola, LaTawnya Burleson, Amber Hagan, Kari Evans, Chloe Ebert, Alex Efird, Aarav Parikh, Ronnie Mondal, Quiyana Murphy, William Poland, Gary Long, Nicole Pitterson, Jason Malone, Rodney Gaines, Kim Loeffert, Rebecca Hester, David He, Renée LeClair, Holli Gardner Drewry, Serena Young, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, Vincent Wang, Kelly Oaks, Larry Cox, II, and Jim Tokuhisa

Absent with Notice: Tim Sands, Amy Sebring, Evan Lavender-Smith, Francisco Carvallo and Rachel Maizel

Absent: Menah Pratt, Kevin Pitts, Tyler Walters, Paul Knox, Leslie Orellana, and Donna Westfall-Rudd

Guests: Ron Fricker, Rachel Gabriele, Monique Logan, Kat Nelson, Lori Rose, Demetria Somervell, Rick Sparks, Lauren Surface, and Kim Daniloski

Dr. Clarke called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Announcement of Order of the Day

Dr. Clarke announced the order of the day for the meeting. Items to be placed on the agenda must be submitted to the secretary at least ten days prior to the meeting date. Follow the procedures in Section 2(2) – University Council Bylaws, Article IX, Section 2(2-3).

2. Announcement of review and approval of minutes of March 3, 2025

Dr. Clarke noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). (Note: The February 17, 2025, meeting was cancelled.)

3. Unfinished Business

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs
CAPFA Resolution 2024-25A
Resolution Updating Language in Chapter 7 of the Faculty Handbook on the A/P Faculty
Grievance Process

Marlena Lester presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Faculty Affairs CFA Resolution 2024-25C

Resolution to Amend the Faculty Senate Constitution to Establish a Discussion Forum Under the Purview of the Faculty Senate

Justin Lemkul presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Faculty Affairs CFA Resolution 2024-25I

Resolution to Rename the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics

Justin Lemkul presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Graduate and Professional Student Affairs CGPSA Resolution 2024-25A

Resolution to Expand CGPSA Membership to Graduate Students from Extended Campuses

Ronnie Mondal presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

4. New Business

Commission on Faculty Affairs CFA Resolution 2024-25G Resolution to Amend Articles V, VI, and IX of the Faculty Senate Constitution

Justin Lemkul presented the resolution for first reading. This resolution proposes updates to the Faculty Senate Constitution as part of an ongoing review to enhance clarity and efficiency.

The key changes discussed include:

- **Article 5**: Clarifies that the Faculty Senate President serves as an elected representative of the faculty to the Board of Visitors.
- Article 6: Expands the Faculty Senate Cabinet membership to include the Chair of the Policy and Procedures Committee (who frequently reviews resolutions) and the elected chairs of commissions under the Faculty Senate's purview. Additionally, the number of advisory members the Faculty Senate President can appoint has been adjusted to reflect the cabinet's expanded size.
- Article 11: Introduces an efficiency measure allowing immediate implementation of changes to University Council Constitution language that are also included in the Faculty Senate Constitution without requiring a resolution if the language has already been approved by University Council. However, all new changes to the Constitution will still follow the full resolution process.

5. Announcement of approval and posting of UC Cabinet, Commission, and Committee Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on minutes of the University Council Cabinet, Commissions, and Committees reporting to University Council Cabinet is to

accept them for filing. University Council Bylaws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- University Council Cabinet February 24, 2025
- Commission on Faculty Affairs January 31, 2025
- Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies January 15, 2025
- Commission on Research November 14, 2024
 December 12, 2024
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies February 10, 2025
- Athletics Committee October 11, 2024 November 14, 2024 December 12, 2024 January 23, 2025
- Budgeting and Planning Committee February 18, 2025
- Climate Action, Sustainability, and Energy Committee January 27, 2025

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:43 p.m.

University Council Votes March 17, 2025

Do you approve						
	.	CAPFAResolution	CFAResolution	CFAResolution		
First name	Last name	2024-25A?	2024-25C?	2024-25I?	2024-25A?	
Janice	Austin	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Laura	Belmonte	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
LaTawnya	Burleson	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
IA	CoxII	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Holli	Drewry	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Chloe	Ebert	Abstain	No Response	Abstain	Abstain	
Alexander	Efird	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Kari	Evans	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Rodney	Gaines	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Bryan	Garey	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Guru	Ghosh	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Dan	Givens	No Response	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Amber	Hagan	No Response	No Response	Yes	No Response	
	Henao					
Piedad	Guerrero	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Rebecca	Hester	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Rachel	Holloway	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Lee	Learman	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Renee	LeClair	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Justin	Lemkul	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Lu	Liu	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Kimberly	Loeffert	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Gary	Long	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Jason	Malone	Yes	Abstain	Yes	Yes	
	McGlothlin					
Marlena	Lester	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Rachel	Miles	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Laurel	Miner	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Ronnie	Mondal	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Amanda	Morris	Yes	Yes	Yes	No Response	
Quiyana	Murphy	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Enrique	Noyola	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Kelly	Oaks	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Aarav	Parikh	No Response	Abstain	Yes	Yes	
Nicole	Pitterson	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
William	Poland	No Response	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Amber	Robinson	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Julia	Ross	Yes	Yes	Yes	No Response	
Saonee	Sarker	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Sally	Shupe	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Susan	Sumner	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Aimee	Surprenant	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
	•					
					No Response	
				•		
Vincent Paul Hehuang	Wang Winistorfer Xie	Yes Yes Yes	Yes Yes Yes	Abstain No Response No Response	Yes	

University Council Votes March 17, 2025

Serena	Young	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Kim	O'Rourke	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	